Search the forum,

Discuss Thermal Store “Boiler-Pump” query in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi, I'm a newbie and need some advice please.
My 4 bed house has gas central heating with the Regular boiler (BG 330 set to 18Kw output) located in the garage. The boiler is connected directly to the header tank (vented system) and is also connected via a dedicated system pump to a thermal store all located in the upstairs airing cupboard. The “boiler-thermal store circuit” is controlled by a timer and thermal store thermostat.

The boiler temperature is set to maximum (80deg) and thermal store stat temperature is set to 75deg. The store pump is controlled by the boiler circuit to deal with the overrun. No bye-pass valve is needed because there a never any restrictions to the flow. The “boiler-pump” work fine but the boiler is 10 years old and “creaking” (fan probably stiff) and the boiler-store pump is noisy.
A separate pump controlled by the room stat and timer uses the thermal store water for the central heating (13 rads).
ALL hot water is provided by mains pressure water being fed into the store heat exchanger (coil internal to the store) with the output mixed with cold water to achieve the safe temperature for the 2 bathrooms plus shower and all basins and downstairs sinks.
I want to replace the boiler and pump (next summer if the present system keeps going) and before I do, can you guide me please (as a householder):
I’m reasonably happy to use a new Greenstar 18Ri regular boiler.
I would like to use an Alpha L pump as being a quieter and more efficient than a standard pump. If so, what would it be the setting to get 18kw peak out of the boiler but only 6-8kw for most or the winter?
I am very pleased with system, the house is quick to warm up, the hot water is plentiful the heating costs lower than our previous 3 bedded house so want to stay with the store.