Search the forum,

Discuss The last tee in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Damon Apple

Help:

I am an apprentice so was dissapointed at college when my tutor belittled me in front of the entire class rather than explain what id done wrong..

I drew a y plan including cylinder flow and returns yet he said i was causing reverse circulation because of the location of my last tee position( grumbled something about HW).....I did not understand and was not explained how to rectify the fault....

Can anybody explain this in simple detail please

Possibly referring to the last tee in the return line from the indirect cylinder return connection

yeah no doubt about it, all heating returns need to be commoned (joined) before the last tee where hot water is joined. There is much debate about the orientation of that Tee but path of least resistance works for me.

I am conufused.. all i had was flow into then return out of cylinder and all my heating returns were on the pipe return back to the boiler......whats the HW return...surely the HW just goes down the sink...sorry but i am an apprentice...

No worries. so there are four connections to indirect cylinder (generally!!) Cold water feed from cold water tank, Hot water draw off to taps/outlets, heating circuit flow connection and heating circuit return.

In this instance, the Heating circuit return should join the last tee on the return to the boiler in your drawing.

Hope this helps but some research on indirect cylinders may be more useful to you.

Here are a couple of drawings to explain it a bit.

This drawing is piped correctly and the arrows show where the water would flow when on for hot water only

1.JPG
On heating only the water would flow like this
2.JPG
If you put the tee in the wrong place as in this drawing, the water would flow backwards through the nearest rad(s) and they would heat up (back heat).
3.JPG