Search the forum,

Discuss sudden pressure drop on boiler in the Central Heating Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

hi im new to this so thought i’d come on and ask if anyone came across same problem..

done a boiler 2 years ago (vaillant system boiler) and its been fine whole time, lately his pressure been dropping, tops it up and lasts 4 or 5 days then drops from 1.7bar ish to 0.0bar. not a gradual drop so its strange. just all of a sudden drops fast. when this happens there is no sign of water at pressure relief. the other strange thing is when you top it back up it jumps almost straight away from 0.0 back to 1.7bar. all downstairs is wet underfloor and upstairs all radiators, no signs of leak anywhere. i have tried pumping expansion vessel up and put leak sealer in incase but no joy yet, still doing same thing. can anyone help???

" i have tried pumping expansion vessel up" Have you done it this way?.
Isolate boiler, depressurize, check E.vessel precharge (air end) pressure at 1.0bar, if 0bar pump to 1.0 bar, or, if reading > 1.0 bar, reduce to 1.0bar, deisolate boiler and open fill valves until 1.5 bar., shut fill valves.

" i have tried pumping expansion vessel up" Have you done it this way?.
Isolate boiler, depressurize, check E.vessel precharge (air end) pressure at 1.0bar, if 0bar pump to 1.0 bar, or, if reading > 1.0 bar, reduce to 1.0bar, deisolate boiler and open fill valves until 1.5 bar., shut fill valves.
yea i turned boiler off, de-pressurized, took it out, checked pre charge, was just below 1.5 so pumped it up to that, put it back in and set it away. holds solid for 4/5 days then just all of a sudden drops to 0, then when system is re pressurized it takes literally nothing at all and jumps right back up to where pressure was at before