Search the forum,

Discuss Sole trader apprenticeship question in the Plumbing Courses and Training area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi all,

Was looking for some advice as I've been looking online for answers but can't seem to find any relevant ones, maybe as there's a couple different aspects to the question I'm asking.

I'm a sole trader, predominantly fitting kitchens & bathrooms, fair bit of call out work for leaks etc. I'm looking at taking on an apprentice as workload has been increasing for a while now and could do with some extra help, plus I'd like to be able to provide an opportunity to a young lad as I don't think there are enough of them out there.

My main question is what are the criteria I need to satisfy in order to register? I trained in carpentry but did a plumbing level 2 diploma at my local college in 2017, and have been doing plumbing related work since. Do I need a level 3 qualification? If so what might be the easiest route into that?

I've read that as a sole trader you can either set up as an employer and pay wages through PAYE, or use an apprentice training association (ATA) and let them do it all for you. Anyone had any experience with theses ATAs? Basically want to do the one that causes the least headache. Not averse to doing the PAYE thing but I previously ran a company and found the whole set up & maintenance of it annoying and confusing at times.

Thanks for anyone able to offer any help, let me know if I've posted this in the wrong subforum.

Cheers!

If you are looking to be the WBR (Work Based Recorder) for an apprentice's NVQ, I think you need 5 years' experience working as a plumber OR the NVQ2. So if you are already working as a plumber, you may be alright from that point of view: check with local college for confirmation as I may be out of date with my information.

Reply to Sole trader apprenticeship question in the Plumbing Courses and Training area at PlumbersForums.net

Similar plumbing topics