Search the forum,

Discuss Site/commercial work in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Newbie here, been browsing for a while decided it was about time i posted!

Anyway, just come to the end of my apprenticeship for a small domestic company. Problem is the work is a bit slack at the moment and as much as i like the job, i think it may be time to move on. My mate works for a bigger company doing more commercial work, schools & offices e.t.c. I'd be able to get a job with this firm, but having been used to domestic work for 4 years i'm a bit unsure whether to go for it. Has anyone any experience of the commercial side of plumbing? How different is it to domestic? It would also mean i wouldn't be able to do much gas, which is a shame as ideally i wanted to really get into boiler fault finding now i've got my ACS. Any advice would be great!

Also, how much of a killer is the half 7 starts on site?!

I'm from commercial side of things and to be honest when we had domestic guys through agencies they got fouund out pretty quickly, its completely different from domestic alot of pipe fitting everything needs to be done to spec and done to a high standard, working from drawings aswell, don't get me wrong the work isn't really that hard but with my company anyway the domestic guys didnt last long if they had no previous experience through an agency, or if they tried to get a start direct they didnt get one

I wanted to get off the sites as I want to do more heating work than plumbing, maybe in the future I'll do my commercial tickets and try get into commercial heating, but commercial is pretty repetitive and is hard to keep yourself motivated when your doing the same stuff day in day out, also winters are really bad lol.

Last edited:
Yeah i've heard it gets rather cold on site in winter!