Search the forum,

Discuss Showroom isn't paying in the UK Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi everyone, I have been working for myself for around 2 years now and I have started doing work for bathroom shower in Glasgow. It worked great at the start they supply materials and customer and I supply trades with an invoice sent on completion. It's gotten to the point where he owes me for 3 (I've already paid other trades) and there is 2 ongoing. I'm starting to hear of other subcontractors who are in the same position and are owed for a few jobs some even upwards of 20k. I'm now at the stage where I can't afford to even put fuel in my van and he won't even answer his phone so where do I stand and what can I do?

Your in a hole put the shovel down.
You really have to stop . Invoice up to today then refuse to do any more until paid.
Your better off sat at home than paying out any more.

Contact Pete beaumont

I’ve used him before and it got sorted

If he won't answer his phone and owes you for 3 jobs + 2 ongoing, you're as good as f'd in my opinion.

Get in first before the money disappears.

Go to the ongoing jobs and start to remove materials - if need be inform the customer.
For the previous jobs - rock up to the houses and present them with an invoice for works outstanding.

Don't get aggressive or violent, just speak to the customer politely.

Use a line - So and so hasn't paid me and he told me to drop by to try and sort out my invoice with you directly.
He also said that he has given up on you paying for the job and hence can't pay me.

Do you have any issues with the work I have done?

It's a long shot, but it may get the client to call the person who owes you money while you are there.

I did this a 3 or 4 years ago with a builder that owed me money, with 3 customers.
Got most of my money owed and left 3 jobs that would have left the builder and customers in extreme grief - st a much later date.