Search the forum,

Discuss Servicing gas coal effect fires in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

I had two gas coal effect fires serviced. The plumber said that very few plumbers have the ticket for servicing these fires. A few weeks later another plumber came to service the Worcester Bosch combi. I told him what the first plumber said about servicing gas coal effect fires. He said that was bollox, that any gas safe registered plumber can service these fires. Who is telling the truth?

You don't have a ticket for servicing specific fires so not sure what the first engineer meant by saying "these fires". The second engineer saying it's bollox is correct with that statement but not by saying any gas safe registered plumber can work on these fires. I'm a gas safe registered plumber and I haven't done the fires qualification. If your ever in doubt, next time you get an engineer out, ask to see the engineers card and look at the back of it and it's lists what they can touch. If your appliance isn't on the list, they can't touch it. For example, the only appliances I have are boilers and cookers, the back of my card lists cookers and range cookers, boilers and water heaters, fires are not listed so I can't touch your fire. If they refuse to show you, don't let them in ;)

Attachments

• 20190807_215924.jpg
    20190807_215924.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 19
I’d guess the boiler is on a service plan whilst the fire is not. ;)
That's correct, to maintain the guarantee I have an annual contract with the firm who installed the boiler. The contract covers annual servicing and any breakdowns during the year. The company does't do gas fires but the plumber had the qualification for fires which he showed me. When they do the boiler service they always ask if the gas fires have been serviced, so I had the fires serviced beforehand.

It's a WB Greenstar Si compact 30kw NG combi, installed 3 years and 4 months ago, 5 year labour and parts warranty.