Search the forum,

Discuss Serious and pre-existing leak or thermal store error? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Now sorted... don’t bother reading this stupid long post.

Hi,

I’ve got a bit of a head scratcher here and wondered what you guys would make of it.

I was called by a landlord to do a gas safety check on a property that is now at the latter stages of being sold and the buyers wanted the usual gas & electrical certificates. It’s a 4 bed property with 2 bathrooms that I’ve been doing the gas safety checks on for about 5 years. The hot water and heating is supplied by a Baxi Solo 3 PFL and a Manco Powerstream thermal store.

The property hasn’t been inhabited for about 9 months I think he’d said and I hadn’t been there for a couple of years. Anyway, I turned on the demand for heating and hot water and went to look at the fire and the cooker knowing that the fire needed servicing. After 20 minutes or so I went to check the rads as I’d expected a bit of warmth in them. They were still cold, no notable heat rise at all, so I went upstairs towards the cylinder checking each rad for heat and getting nothing. On getting to the 2nd floor where the thermal store is I heard unmistakable and worrying groans from the cylinder store cupboard.... opened the door to see a large crack suddenly appear in the insulation and the thing sounding like it’s about to burst. I ran down to the boiler opening a couple of hot taps on the way and turned off the boiler, gas and electric in panic at the thought of what might happen. The water was surprisingly hot and stayed so for a while given the boiler had only been running for 20 minutes or so.