Search the forum,

Discuss Self employed/ contracting gas work in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi all. Sorry for another boring topic on going it alone. Have read through previous ones and am a little more worried now lol but have found some useful info. Work for a national company at the moment mainly doing boiler repairs. I've been doing this for 10 years on a variety of boilers and systems so am fairly experienced. I was initially going to sign up to someone like Homeserve or Corgi home plan, try and get in with some estate agents, and obviously start advertising myself. I'm based in west London so plenty of options I guess, but just wanted to know if this is a good way to start and if anyone was doing similar? I'm on 40k ish a year at mo, but fed up of current employers. I understand the extra work involved, probably not fully till I take the plunge, but am used to long days and lots of weekend working which I currently do. Any advise appreciated

Good luck I wouldn’t recommend going to places like them as

Service / check around 25-30
And hour rate on break downs will be around the 20-25 mark

I would keep on my 40k tbh no need to worrie about finding work in an saturated market also race to the bottom

There are some fellas that are absolute natural self employed
in any sphere of business..in our industry, their are many barriers to entry..GSR etc. but
if you feel up to it have a go. I did and many others on here also. BUT to be a success you really need to be at all times positive ...and look a solutions not problems. There are always problems being your own boss ..its how YOU deal with these problems...if you are not up to it then stay employed or step out and bite the bullet....Rob Foster aka centralheatking