Search the forum,

Discuss Replacing the type of plug in the Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

Hello. Total novice here.

We have a pop-up thumb plug (think that's the name, following a Google search - photo attached). It was here when we moved in (I personally would have chosen a standard plug type, I find these pop up ones faffy).

My husband pulled this out today to declog the sink and he accidentally dropped this screw bit down the drain: Hansgrohe Replacement Screw for Plug (97522000): Amazon.co.uk: DIY & Tools - https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00HNSU2UA/ref=cm_sw_r_apa_i_UAuWEb0SY3B7T

We can't get it out because we have no idea how to get to the pipes underneath (photo attached).

We can buy the replacement screw. But I was wondering if there was a way of replacing this plug type with a normal chain plug, or to another type of pop up (photo attached)? I don't know if the metal circular bit (dunno the technical name, pic attached) is usually removeable from sinks.

Attachments

• Thumb plug.jpg
    Thumb plug.jpg
    55.3 KB · Views: 9
  • Pipes covered up.jpg
    Pipes covered up.jpg
    28.2 KB · Views: 8
  • Metal circular bit.jpg
    Metal circular bit.jpg
    37.2 KB · Views: 9
  • Possibly swap for this type.jpg
    Possibly swap for this type.jpg
    40.9 KB · Views: 7
As you are novices, I wouldn't recommend you fitting a different type of waste outlet to your basin. You would be better just buying the fitting. The only problem you may have is the screw down the waste, it could trap hair and other things and block your basin. You might be getting a plumber to recover the piece or possibly renew the waste.