Search the forum,

Discuss Replacing radiator with towel rail - help needed in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

Morning all. Wondering if you can help.

I'm re-doing my bathroom and thought I'd replace the radiator with a towel rail. The plastic pipes seem to be speedfit (or similar). I can't see a brand on them and they say 15mm (but they're clearly 10mm).

The current pipes won't stretch to the new towel radiator. Can anyone suggest what I can do? I could get some extra pipe and connect it to the current one, although it'll look messy. Or even do that inside the wall and cover the pipes with chrome.

I'm an amateur so an easy solution would be great, and I'd rather not have to drill any new holes.

Many thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_0086.jpg
    IMG_0086.jpg
    298 KB · Views: 26
You have a Myson TRV and a lockshield valve, both of which are 15mm nuts and the elbows are 15mm x 10mm reducing type. I think to get those to reach you’re going to have to add extra pipe.
Thank you! The TRV and valve fit the towel rail fine, it's just the pipes that din't reach. Would you recommend gettign some additional pipe and connecting it to the current pipe?

Thank you! The TRV and valve fit the towel rail fine, it's just the pipes that din't reach. Would you recommend gettign some additional pipe and connecting it to the current pipe?
Yes I would, I’m not sure you’ll be able to expose the pipes that far back. Use a speedfit coupling with inserts, and use either speedfit pipe or copper if you’re feeling adventurous.

Thanks! I've got a combi boiler
Good stuff. So what you can often do is close the valves (as you have done, and drain the water through both valves, one at a time and that’s usually sufficient. Once wafter has ceased from both sides, you can normally work on the system, only refilling when you have finished, and just check any other radiators for any air, sometimes there is, sometimes there isn’t.