Search the forum,

Discuss Removal of redundant gas pipe in the Gas Engineers Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi Guys, I am not a gas engineer but would like advice on a job I have been quoted. There is a high level gas heater that has to be taken out of service, around 5mtrs up. There is a chance we will want to re-instate it in a year or two so the unit will stay in situ. The room is used for storage and no one goes in there so the heater is never used but I understand that if the unit stays live it must be serviced every 6 months which means emptying the room then putting everything back. The final gas connection is from an isolation valve to the unit via a flexible hose and I thought it was merely a case of isolating the valve, removing the flexible connection and capping off the pipe at the isolation point? The guy pricing the work has allowed to strip back the steel pipe, around 8mtrs to a second isolation point in the same room, where the gas supply enters, again, around 5mtrs up. Please be aware this is a room within a warehouse type building and the gas pipe in question then runs around 70mtrs back to the main pipework with no branches off.

I asked why we cant just cap off at the local valve and was told "regulations" and something to do with being unable to leave a live pipe in place but when I asked what the difference was between the 8mtrs he intends to strip out and the other 70mtrs of the same run I could not get a satisfactory answer.

Is the guy genuine and this is a regulation, if so why can the other 70mtrs be left in situ or are my pants being pulled down?

TIA

Attachments

• 20200124_132647.jpg
    20200124_132647.jpg
    74.9 KB · Views: 30
As you have taken the advice of a GSR engineer why doubt ...these engineers are highly experienced and heavily regulated just suck it up. Why mess with your home safety for maybe a few £
Centralheatking