Search the forum,

Discuss Radiator off - Advice needed. in the Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi all, please could anyone help me with the following issue im having. I will start off with listing the scenario in case it helps.
Boiler - Ideal Icos.
Property - 4 bed
System age - around 16 yrs.

I have a problem in my en-suite, whereby i am unable to get the towel rail to heat up - this did used to work!.
Im no heating expert, but i will have a go, and what ive found / done so far is as follows.

Did the basics, checked valves were open, removed towel rail and flushed out, there was some sediment in, but not alot.
Reassembled, bled back up and tested, still nothing.

Turned other rads down / all off and left the towel rail on, still nothing.

I removed the return (lockshield) valve, opened into a bucket, and the pressure was more than satisfactory, however when i removed the flow TRV and opened into a bucket, the pressure was far less than the return, just a trickle in comparison.

With this in mind, I believe I am losing pressure in the flow pipe, and it is unable to flow into the towel rail. Despite the flow been feeble, the water to the towel rail is hot, as i can feel it through the TRV fittings, so i know ive got hot water to the towel rail, i just dont think it has satisfactory pressure to enter.

Next, I drained the towel rail again, and dropped the pressure out the system, I connected an air pump to the flow pipe, and forced air down, in the hope of moving any obstruction. I did this several times, and the air was coming round and back out the return.

I have reassembled it all again, and still nothing. Im now out of ideas and would appreciate anyones advice regarding this.

Thanks in advance.

Chris.

Did you test flow after draining without the trv body on ?

Would say you have a blockage I’m guessing it’s 10mm plastic

Have you checked the insert trv end is fully open and not blocked ?