Search the forum,

Discuss Rad valves with O-rings in the DIY Plumbing Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Some RAD valves come with O-rings, whereas the majority do not and I just wonder if one is better than the other or whether it makes no difference whatsoever?
Reason I ask the question is that I have spent ages looking at valves and have settled on the ones in the link, but I’ve never used valves before with O-rings and so before I hit the buy button I just want to check with you guys: Valves

TIA

1. It doesn't really make any difference.
2. If you use the ones with O rings, the radiator surface where the O rings sit must be smooth. Very often they aren't.
3. There's nothing wrong with the ordinary sort. Its just a matter of wrapping sufficient PTFE tape around the threads to make a leak free fit.
4. The number of turns of PTFE depends on how tight the threads are without anything. Fairly tight, and you might start with 8 wraps, fairly loose and start with 15 to 20. In proportion for a different fit.
5. There are other sealing methods:
5a. Loctite 55 cord - allows for some (max 1/2 turn) backing off. Not needed for radiator tails.
5b. Loctite 577 or Flomasta Pipe Seal. Liquid sealant. Very easy to use, gives a good seal, expensive.

1. It doesn't really make any difference.
2. If you use the ones with O rings, the radiator surface where the O rings sit must be smooth. Very often they aren't.
3. There's nothing wrong with the ordinary sort. Its just a matter of wrapping sufficient PTFE tape around the threads to make a leak free fit.
4. The number of turns of PTFE depends on how tight the threads are without anything. Fairly tight, and you might start with 8 wraps, fairly loose and start with 15 to 20. In proportion for a different fit.
5. There are other sealing methods:
5a. Loctite 55 cord - allows for some (max 1/2 turn) backing off. Not needed for radiator tails.