Search the forum,

Discuss Questionable gas cooker installation. Advice needed. in the Gas Engineers Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi there,

Big gas noob here. We got a gas cooker installed a few days ago, and the gas cooker is now sitting quite far away from the wall (3cm which sounds like not much but throws the balance off of the kitchen), which means there's a large gap now between the cooker and the wall, but it now also pokes out from the worktops and cupboards in a pretty unsatisfactory way. I assume that the installer was just lazy and put the new tap (not sure if that's what its called) right where the pipe was, pushed the cooker back and then walked away, but maybe I'm wrong. I've attached a photo and in my mind, why wouldn't you just move the tap to the right as I've highlighted in the photo.

The company says thats the safest spot for the tap, but their reasoning was weak to be honest, because of course they don't want to spend any money sending someone back out. I'm also, no expert, but I had another tradie look at it (electrician) who thought it would be fine to move, but obviously getting an unbiased, expert opinion is what counts. I've tried to contact a few other people without any success so I thought I'd try in here, if you good people don't mind.

Cheers for any help!

Attachments

• PXL_20230428_140316334~2.jpeg
    PXL_20230428_140316334~2.jpeg
    295.9 KB · Views: 28
Not sure what to tell you really. The clearances you’re working with are very tight if you’re trying to gain 30mm.

My thoughts might change if I was on site.

Even if the gas pipe was completely removed, due to the plug socket, I don’t think you’ll get 30mm.

Is the gas connection was tucked all the way right, I also do not think you’ll gain much because of the bottom loop of the gas hose. The hose radius is likely larger than the cooker recess.