Search the forum,

Discuss Pump overrun causes loud bang in the Central Heating Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Hello,
I am not a plumber, but I have done some DIY in the past, so I have some experience. Following a new boiler install by a professional about a year ago, there remains an issue when the pump overrun initiates. The boiler is a Worcester Ri compact installed downstairs. the pump is installed above it and feeds out to two Drayton 2 port valves, one for C/H one for H/W. Between the pump and the valves is a tee with a divertor to provide a by-pass during overrun. this works fine when the C/H closes down, but when the H/W closes down there is a loud thump as that valve closes against the pump flow, even with the divertor set to its lowest pressure. The H/W tank is about 8 or 9 meters away, upstairs and the pipes (28mm) are laid between the upstairs joists with minimal fixing (now difficult to access).
It is as if the Drayton valve is being forced closed suddenly by the pressure from the pump, but this doesn't happen with the C/H side. It doesn't happen when the H/W closes but the C/H is still open, only when the H/W on its own is running. The pump is running at its lowest speed. I have tried to eliminate airlocks by putting the pump up to top speed, then back down.
Has anyone else experienced this issue? (Cant find it mentioned anywhere on Google). Could the valve be faulty? It is fitted the right way round according to Drayton installation booklet.
HELP !!!

Hello,