Search the forum,

Discuss Pump on return is there a problem? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Yes still going, although I worked for SLD pumps for a time, so understand the general principle, I am an electrician not a plumber, so not really knowledgeable with domestic pumps, I know my father-in-laws pump failed after the micro switch stuck on the motorised valve and caused it to run with no flow, however the pump could have been on last legs anyway.

But in that case the motorised valve was on pressure side of pump, not sure what happens if on suction side? Also just fitted the motorised valve to wiring, although not as yet plumbed in, and I note mounted one way it could be forced open by pressure the other way pressure would hold it closed, so if mounted one way around maybe it would simply be forced open and do no harm?

I have got it wrong before with domestic central heating, so not going to tell the plumber his job, but still would like to get it straight in my own mind.

The plumber said fitting a motorised valve would not stop thermal syphon through the radiators, so I asked him to do simple experiment, turn off the maintenance valve at the pump, if the radiators then did not warm up, clearly a motorised valve would help, if they still warmed up, then clearly a motorised valve would not help, and they stopped warming up, so fitting a motorised valve seemed to be way forward.

That is not to say some sort of pressure release valve like a by-pass valve would not do the same job, however I would then need to fit relays or pressure switches to replace the micro switch in the motorised valve, so for me as electrician the motorised valve was easy sure way to cure the problem.