Search the forum,

Discuss Problem with burned baffle Baxi Solo in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

M

Mike T

Hi Folks, Thanks for allowing me to join the forum. I have some engineering knowledge but would not touch a gas boiler!
I have a maintenance contract and the engineer came to check my Baxi Solo 2 PF for its annual service / inspection. On opening up there were lots of tutting noises. As I was chatting to him as he worked he explained that there were lots of bits at the bottom of the heat eaxchanger / burner unit. A bracket had been fitted the wrong way round, allowing the ceramic side piece and baffle to fall onto the burner. The baffle was a mass of broken and rusty pieces. The baffle is now an obsolete part. The rest of the boiler is as new but they are saying that it could be a new boiler required!!! Any comments appreciated. Part number BAX231337.

You had me until you said you were an engineer as that always fills me with dread. Simple answer with this is how long have they been doing your maintenance contract?? If they have done it the past few years unless anyone else has been tampering(????) it must be them that’s done the bracket around the wrong way??

They have been doing it for two years and this would be the third service. I agree, it seems it should be down to the last service engineer. (I'm a mechanical engineer by the way! :)) Baxi tell me there are no spares as obsolete.

Then I’d be putting a strongly worded correspondence together for your maintenance company. If they’ve looked the past few years then this damage must only have been caused in the last 12 months. No one else to blame if no one else has been in there. Make sure you have it in writing that the engineer said someone has installed the bracket wrong

And I wasn’t having a dig about engineering. We get a large number who engineer and think that they can turn their hand to anything, illegal or not