Search the forum,

Discuss Prison maintenance work in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Matt0029

Gas Engineer
Anyone had a job doing plumbing maintenance at prisons through amey?

45 mile down the road from me Wetherby.

We have HMYOI Deerbolt on the doorstep.

The company I was an apprentice for had a site inside Franklin Prison. 1st rule was dodge the paper bags thrown from cell windows.

I have done work in prisons a right ball ache you end up feeling like you are a inmate yourself everything takes so long because of security, no mobiles allowed tools are checked in and checked out lucky if you get 5 hours work done a day often you have a prison warden overseeing the work for your own safety , wasn't for me . Kop

It was definitely different,
Murders constantly calling for works lol. Ive met all the people you see on these crime docs got there books signed at home sad uh!

Found it slow aswell every time general alarm goes off and inmate movement. Had total feedom in there no more knooks and crannys it that place than the prison service does.

How you getting on in there.
[automerge]1571308939[/automerge]
Kop,
Use to go on wings and spurs on my own with tool bag,
Know what you mean about tool checks use to get stopped by dst and dogs for random searches (dst dedicated search team)
Officer would leave you,
Most officer dont follow rules.
[automerge]1571309112[/automerge]
Sorry matt never answered ya question.
Everything plumbing gas tumble dryers washing machines re fit cells after smash up,
Observation glass replacements,
Fitting razor wire all sorts mate
[automerge]1571309528[/automerge]
Murders constantly calling for works lol. Ive met all the people you see on these crime docs got there books signed at home sad uh!

Found it slow aswell every time general alarm goes off and inmate movement. Had total feedom in there no more knooks and crannys it that place than the prison service does.

Kop,