Search the forum,

Discuss Police officer considering leaving to do a trade. in the UK Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi,

I am a Queensland Police Officer that's considering packing it in to pursue a trade. I like the problem solving aspect of plumbing and think I'd be good at it. I've done a lot of home renovations but admittedly only minor plumbing repairs.

After a decade in policing I just don't have a passion for it any more really. Mostly I'm sick of the shift work and dealing with domestic violence all the time. I guess I'm here to find out if I'm crazy giving up a fairly good government job to start at the bottom again.

I'm on a fairly good pay scale with policing. Made 120 gross plus 15k super last year with minimal overtime. Most jobs I see advertised on seek for plumbers are in the 85-90 once qualified, obviously apprentice pay is Rubbish. But I'd be willing to do it if the job is worth it.

I should also mention I'm 36, nearly 37. I hear a lot of people talk about how doing a trade is hard on your body. I'm confident I'd be able to handle the physicality, but it is a consideration. I'm not sure if companies would be reluctant to hire me.

Keen to hear thoughts from other Aussies in the industry, cheers.

If you did an apprenticeship, over 4 years, you would lose @ 300k in earnings & @ 50k in super.

The pay rates for plumbers you mentioned would be for experienced plumbers with a number of years experience.

It would take you many years to try and get back on the pay scale you are on currently.
I doubt you would ever recover the money you are going to give up, if you change to the plumbing game.

Reply to Police officer considering leaving to do a trade. in the UK Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

Similar plumbing topics