Search the forum,

Discuss Please help - thundering noise when I open the hot water tap in the Central Heating Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Hello

I have no experience in this industry. A few years ago our home was completely stripped apart, remodelled and extended. This required new hot and cold water pipes all over the house, a larger boiler, larger tank and so on - see attached. We wanted the water tank to go into the loft but the company overseeing the work gave excuses that it's better on the ground floor which we didn't question at the time. Since then, we found out it could've gone there (and should've) but that's irrelevant now. See attached for picture of what it looks like.

After the housework was complete, everything was working great. Hot water and heating was controllable by Hive. However, we found the water was hot 24/7 even on consecutive days where we turned off the hot water schedule completely. And then months later we received a painful electric bill. We suspected the heating system was the cause and called the heating engineer.

The heating engineer took apart things and then realised the system (which he installed/oversaw) had immersion heating turned on. He literally spent 7 hours working on it and even got replacement parts for things he thought was broken. He said it was his fault for leaving it on and we told him not to worry. Just glad the issue was found. He switched it off and then we were now able to control the hot water from hive. It's the switch in the attached picture, below the hive receiver on the right.

However, the day that he left, we would frequently hear thundering sound from the same room. I've attached a video where you can hear the sound. He was sent the same video but he said he didn't know. While the sound seems "confined", it's much more profound in person and can be heard across rooms and floors.