Search the forum,

Discuss Please help me diagnose these drips and condensating pipes! in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi everyone,

Complete novice here. I have water droplets leaking from the ceiling in both of my flat's bedrooms. It's coming from the exact same spot in both bedrooms, which is in the gap below where I believe the heating/air-circulation systems are located in the ceiling of each room (see pics below, the water is dripping from the black circled areas).

We do not have radiators, only fan heating from the ceiling vents which also has a "comfort cool" fan setting. The water is leaking whether or not the system is turned on in the room.

IMG-3318-1.jpg

IMG-3319-1.jpg

In the utility cupboard, some of the pipes are condensating so badly that huge puddles are forming. The floor feels so cold and some of the pipes are almost freezing cold to touch. I've put a picture below; the pipe above the towel is the worst offender.

IMG-3322.jpg

IMG-3321.jpg

IMG-3320.jpg

Anyone have any tips or suggestions as to what this could be? Is it just a case of needing to insulate these pipes?

Thank you so much for any advice.

Open the access hatches in the roof

As for the drips is it running from further up ?

Thanks. I opened the access hatch in one of the rooms. The drip is coming from the copper pipes above this plastic pipe. They are really cold so presumably that is why they are sweating.

IMG-3326.jpg

IMG-3323.jpg

IMG-3324.jpg

Last edited:
So, to try summarise my whole issue, it seems that suddenly my copper cold water pipes are running with much colder water than usual and that, coupled with the warm weather, is causing all these drips? Do I just need to insulate them better?

Shall I try wrapping them in this?

Last edited: