Search the forum,

Discuss Pipe layout (small leak) in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi all,

I'm a door fitter by trade and definitely not a plumber.
I came home and found a small leak under the sink, I'm trying to identify what the pipe is before I need to call a plumber out or hopefully repair it myself.

I've attached a photo of the layout with arrows to where the leak is.
Hoping someone could identify the pipe, first I thought it was the overflow, but why would it leak? ( go easy, I'm not a plumber) :)

To clarify, the pipe with the lead looks like it heads outside but there is no pipe on the outside of the house but what I have noticed is a few bricks looking rather wet!

Many thanks

Attachments

• sink.jpg
    sink.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 34
Last edited:
Hi and welcome,
Is there any chance that it is condensation dripping down from the copper pipe above? The white pipe is solvent weld and don`t tend to leak in time.
That pipe going "outside" is actually bringing water in from say washing m/c or dishwasher perhaps?

The "leaking" pipe could be the condensate drain from the nearby Gas boiler?
Is that wall a solid outside wall, the back of the cabinet or Stud wall?

Thanks for both of your replies.
Yes, its a solid wall, so after looking at the boiler there is the same size white plastic pipe coming from there, so it means its the condensate drain pip from the boiler.

I also noticed a tiny damp patch on the wall (plaster colour) - photo attached

I had checked the copper pipe to see if it was condensation dripping off and onto the plastic pipe but its not.

So if the pipe from the boiler is leaking - over flowing? Do I have any options?

Regards

Attachments

• pipe 2.jpg
    pipe 2.jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 26
Hi all,

I'm a door fitter by trade and definitely not a plumber.
I came home and found a small leak under the sink, I'm trying to identify what the pipe is before I need to call a plumber out or hopefully repair it myself.