Search the forum,

Discuss Part P in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

mike pollard

Hi Folks.
I am a part p plumber, but as yet am not registered. Although I have a Robin KTS 1620 tester it's too complicated for me. I came across the Socket and See PDL 200 and it appears to be pretty simple. Could anyone tell me if this would be enough to test a typical job (shower/fan/lights etc) and fill in the relevant test certificate.
Cheers.
Mike

No you can not use the plug in tester to carry out official tests, it can be used as a safety check for your self only and any faults it picks up should be tested further with correct instrumentation
Some of the testers can be complicated if you have not used them before, pursume you are not sure about some of the settings required, what you need is someone to show you how to operate it, once show often easier, try your local college, training centre, they will not charge alot to go through with you or ring robin up and see if they have a training video for their equipment

Hi! Mike.

As puddle says you probably need a lesson on how to use your tester. It seems to cover 16th edition test regs and it may cover the current 17th.

But in learning how to use it, you will also probably get to know what is required and why, for the tests themselves.

I'm sorry but if you don't know whats involved in testing you should not be doing electrical work as for using a plug in tester is this a wind up!

I agree.

To become registered to notify jobs, you must prove competence in electrical work and testing.

Wind up.

If it isnt then, i dunno.

I'm sorry but if you don't know whats involved in testing you should not be doing electrical work as for using a plug in tester is this a wind up!
I know exactly what is required, as I successfully completed the Part P course and am taking the next step, but thanks for the lesson.