Search the forum,

Discuss Opinions needed on my options for dishwasher connections in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,
I'm only a beginner and it's my first post on here. I got some great help over on the electricians forum recently so let's see how I get on here.
We're installing a dishwasher, I've come up with a plan for the plumbing and I need to bounce it off someone. Please see the annotated photos below with detailed questions.
The dishwasher is going next to the sink, on the left hand side of the photo. The WM is staying where it is, just to the right of the photo.
Photo 1 is the general layout which also shows how I propose to connect the waste pipes. My questions are:
A. Will this work, or is there a better way to do this?
B. What size hole should I drill in the cupboard? I need a holesaw for a 13A mains plug too, so I was going to get a 57mm holesaw froom toolstation. The current WM hole is approx 57mm anyway. Or am I better off with a bigger/smaller hole?
C. Bonus points if anyone has any suggestions why there is a Bulgin P800 10A 3-pin connector there - it goses straight into the wall behind the back screen of the cupboard.
dishwasher1 waste options.JPG

Photo 2 and 3 are to show the two options I am considering for the supply. Photo 2 shows the current layout, photo 3 is an idication of the proposed solutions.
Option 1 is to close the tap at the outlet end of the braided hose, then insert a y piece between that and the sloping pipe and feed the DW from there.
Option 2 is to plumb in where the little WM tap is at the moment, replace the current elbow valve with a straight one and put a y piece on that.
My main questions here are:
D. Are there any siginificant pros or cons of these two options, or would you suggest something different?
E. There are two tees one above another in the middle of the photo. Am I right in guessing that