Search the forum,

Discuss Now then, newbie here. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Alright everyone! Greetings, from the wonderful City of Liverpool!

I'm not a qualified plumber - but a joiner of wood. I fell in to the world of timber when I was younger, due to my old fella being a joiner basher an' tha'. But what I was really intrigued in, was the use of blowtorches, copper, solder and silicone with a splash of water.

I've started doing my own little bits here and there, when fitting kitchens and bathrooms etc. I've got all the gear - and good gear it is too. But the little bits aren't what I'm looking for. I'd love to scratch this itch I've had for years and start doing the serious stuff, even commercial or industrial - I'd even like to become gas safe.

Now I know like all new tradies that show up are looked upon with a cynical eye, but I'm looking for advice here. I've got the gear, I've got a van, I've got my own work, but I want to change. I'll drive myself mad otherwise. Where the hell do I start? Do I start asking firms and tell them my situation or does anybody know a firm or sole trader in Merseyside, looking for a lad with responsibilities (not expecting big money), with experience in the trades who's looking to become a full-on plumber/gas fitter? Do I bother with getting my NVQ's in this trade or am I too old? (35) Genuinely I'm just looking for realistic ideas.

Anyway, thanks for reading this if you get to here. Hopefully someone can throw me some advice.

Matt

Hello and welcome

I'm not a qualified plumber - but a joiner of wood. I fell in to the world of timber when I was younger, due to my old fella being a joiner basher an' tha'. But what I was really intrigued in, was the use of blowtorches, copper, solder and silicone with a splash of water.