Search the forum,

Discuss Noise from cylinder area in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

Good day - apologies if similar questions have been asked before but I have no real knowledge of plumbing and heating so thought I would try here to see if members might be able to help me.

I have an almost new Gledhill unvented cylinder that was fitted at the start of the year. I have no issues with hot water (or heating) generally - however I have noticed that when the HW cylinder is on that there is a (sometimes louder than others) 'bang/thunk' type noise - the noise tends to happen only once and is usually after about 25-35 mins of the HW being switched on. I pointed this out to BG during their annual check and they checked the motorised valve which they said was in order and said there was nothing obvious - the MV does switch on and off as and when the timer for the HW kicks in. Its hard to catch the noise as timing is random but doesnt sound like its coming from the cylinder itself - but not 100%

After the noise the boiler light suggests that the boiler is no longer firing the HW up - I think, given that it tends to happen 'mid timer' that there's a valve just switching off when the cylinder reaches temperature and making the noise - there is no noise from CH other than usual radiator noises?

Unfortunately (and I feel even dafter for admitting this) I don't know when this might have started - we've had water on and off periodically to have some work done on taps/showers etc (these all work fine) and I did mess around with the timer timings so cant say if this is a new thing or whether its being going on (at a different time where I didnt notice it) since install.

I've had a look and cant see any arrows etc on pipework or valve to check if the MV is the right way round as I have read this can sometimes make a noise - there is a separate MV for HW and CH - however they don't both face the same way.