Search the forum,

Discuss No hot water but central heating is working in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi, our house has a conventional boiler and gravity fed cylinder system (please excuse any poor descriptions as I am a plumbing layman). Woke up yesterday to find that we weren't getting any hot water from taps or showers. Our central heating is working fine, all radiators heating as they should be. We heard a gurgling noise either in our water tank or the pipes around it in the airing cupboard in the night before the hot water stopped, which I'm guessing is linked to the issue. In the morning my wife was able to have a shower but since that point we've had no more hot water.
Does anyone have an idea what has happened? And is there any quick fix or anything I can check before getting somebody to have a look?

I probably don't have the answer - but for clarity is the problem:
1) The water from the hot taps is not hot
2) There is no water flow from the hot taps

My assumption would be the former, and without knowing the system - could be a sticky/jammed diverter valve

I'll add the caveat that I'm a DIYer (engineer by trade) so still learning myself - but it sounds a lot like a sticky/jammed/failed diverter valve... boiler still working, water still getting to tank - although no idea on the gurgling noise.

If you can access the diverter valve then manually set it across to feed the hot water tank and turn the HW timer on/create a call for heat, and see if you have any joy with that. (plenty of videos on youtube which will show you how better than I can describe!)

Motorised valve (2/3 port not diverting heated water properly) , failed cylinder stat, cylinder stat set too low? If it’s not a fully pumped system then could be an air lock.

Have you got a working immersion heater that will get you out of the ****.