Search the forum,

Discuss Newbie looking for advice in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Guys,

I've just joined and hoping to get lots of tips and ideas from you guys. My partner has asked me to build her a bathroom upstairs in what is currently and extra unused bedroom. I am not a professional but I am a decent DIYer. Now, we currently have a downstairs bathroom with nothing upstairs and I was wondering, if I removed the downstairs bathroom and built one upstairs, would I need to include a pump to assist the water flow?

All hot water is currently supplied by a single boiler in the kitchen supplying hot taps and heating. There is currently no water supply upstairs!

I look forward to learning a lot from the forum. Thanks in anticipation of your help.

You will not need to use a pump sounds like your boiler works on mains water.You will need to look at the waste pipe runs and where to take them to drain.

Thanks mate. Yea the boiler is fed from the mains. I have the waste in mind. Bath and shower not a problem I can connect to the waste for the kitchen sink outlet which is directly underneath. The toilet waste is more of a problem and I suspect the easiest is going to run along the outside of the wall (taking the necessary slope into consideration) and then down to the outside of where the current toilet is and back in through the wall to the current waste.

There will be a cupboard in that position as we extend the kitchen so the waste pipe will be hidden. The alternative is digging up the concrete floor in the back garden looking for the sewerage pipe which I am not too keen on.

Thanks for your reply.

going out (external) then back in (internal) with the soil pipe doesn't sound logical also building control may need to be notified