Search the forum,

Discuss New thermostatic tap doesn't control water temperature in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

Tom Bates

Hi all,

I've just installed a new tap / shower mixer. It the model is:

Aldo Thermostatic Deck Mounted Bath Show Mixer

Having fitted it successfully (seemingly!), it isn't working at all as expected. I should say that I'm a complete novice in these matters.

The basic problem is: the unit does not control the water temperature in a detectable way. The water is very hot even on the lowest temperature, and doesn't seem to change when cranked all the way up. It does reach a point however where something happens, and the temperature plummets to completely cold.

If you have 2 mins spare, I have a video explaining the issue better:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=98pxZjeJRzA

Any advice would be appreciated, thanks for your time.

Tom

Is your hot on the left? And what do you have for hot water? Combi? Cylinder?

Is your hot on the left? And what do you have for hot water? Combi? Cylinder?

Combi boiler (Glow Worm Flexicom 24CX)

And hot is currently on the right...

I'll say now that there were no instructions with unit at all. But yes, perhaps I should have called a plumber :wink_smile:

It's got to be Hot and Cold connections reversed.
What side was the hot tap on before you removed the old one?

Are the connections on flexi pipes?

i agree the hot and cold are plumbed up wrong, they need swapping round for the tap to work correctly.

1. Where is your hot and cold water coming from ? Hot from tank / cold from mains ?
2. Have you removed the thermostat and tried adjusting the temp setting?
3. is this a cheep tap ? a good quality thermostatic bath shower mixer would be well over ÂŁ200.

Thanks all for the replies and advice. Not sure if my messages are being moderated as I did try to write back...