Search the forum,

Discuss New oil boiler system required - Advice needed please in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

rich_mat_rix

Hi,

I'm in need of some advice regarding the fitting of a new boiler. I'm no expert so i'll apologise in advance if I get the terminology and/or descriptions wrong, and also sorry for such a lengthy post. We're on oil, and currently have an aging conventional Boulter boiler which is pretty much on it's last legs and needs replacing in the near future. We have an open vented gravity based system feeding a standard insulated copper cylinder. We also have an Aga which when on during the winter months also heats the cylinder.

In the next 5 years or so, I plan on converting our loft into a living space. At the moment, there are two extremely large connected cold water storage tanks and a small feed and expansion tank for the heating system up there.
What I would like to do is lose or reduce the size of the tanks in the loft when we get a new boiler. I've been told to do this we would have to move to a pressurised system. However, we also want to be able to keep the ability for the Aga to heat the hot water, but in researching this, i've found that this isn't usually possible because the Aga is an uncontrolled heat source.

Can anybody suggest whether it is possible to replace our current boiler and system with one which can achieve both goals (i.e. lose or reduce size of water tanks whilst still allowing the Aga to heat the hot water in conjunction with the boiler)? I've looked into twin coil cylinders which are used in conjunction with solar panels, but I suspect that because it is the cylinder that is pressurised then this would not work. Any advice is very much appreciated.

Many thanks,

Richard