Search the forum,

Discuss new member and advice needed in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

beepalm

Hi all, I am a newbie looking for some sound advice and reading through your website I feel as though I have come to the right place. Last week I had a new central heating system fitted, the old one was a gravity-fed, gas boiler hot water tank type. The new one is a mains-fed combi type, all new radiators were fitted and I am happy with the installation. I have two queries - one, the hot water tap in the bathroom and kitchen(I live in a bungalow) started "screaming" and when turned off quickly the pipes kind of reverberate. The engineer came but said he couldn't do anything as the pressure was too high, he turned the pressure down on the boiler just a smidgeon but it made no difference. Any ideas? Second, 3 of the radiators have been fitted with no backs on them - is this correct? Thanks for any advice.

Sounds like water hammer caused by incorrectly/inadequately clipped pipework, if you have high water pressure it'll exasperate it.
What do you mean by no backs on your radiators?
Could you post a photo?

So he did'nt fit a presssure reducing valve and expansion vessel on thr main input?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reply to new member and advice needed in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Similar plumbing topics

The Water Board have just replaced the main water supply to our property. We have a ground floor combi boiler. The central heating system for the whole house is working as normal. Hot water is working as normal on the ground floor. However, there is no hot water to the first floor bathroom. This...
Replies
Views