Search the forum,

Discuss Need e-mail or telephone assistance to help diagnose a heating issue in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

C

Czech Pete

Hi, I'm English and live in the Czech Republic and I'm having difficulty with my heating system. Unfortunately, I cant find any heating engineer that speaks English! Both the engineer that built the fireplace and the heating engineer that service the system dont agree with each other on system settings or design, and I dont trust either of them that they know what they are doing. As an engineer myself, I know when I am being fed bullshit and also I have a general idea of the system and what the faults are, which they just cant seem to resolve.

I have a modern house approx 8yrs old, with underfloor heating down and upstairs. This is backed up by a woodstove with a back boiler. I have a large 1000l tank (approx) which is heated by two immersion heaters (I assume one is for flooring and the other for hot water). The plumbing is a bit of a jumble, however, I have put together a diagram and backed up the diagram with photo's, to explain the system setup (red lines for hot water, blue for cold, pumps, valves etc... ).

Before I moved into the house 3 years ago, the hot water tank exploded and was replaced. Because of the issues listed below, I still feel there is a design issue with the system.

If it all worked correctly, it would be a nice set up... however...

Issue 1 - When I light the fire, the floor heating stops working.
Issue 2 - When the fire goes out, I have to force the underfloor heating to start working again.
Issue 3 - System often loses pressure.
Issue 4 - Some days the floor heating works, and some days, I just get hot spots (either up or downstairs)
Issue 5 - When I light the fire, sometimes the alarm goes off on the thermostat controller for 'high temp'.
Issue 6 - In deep winter, when the immersion heaters turn on, it can sometimes throw the electric in the distribution panel.