Search the forum,

Discuss Need Advice on Smart Thermostatic Valve compatibility in the Central Heating Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi all, a newbie here with relatively little experience. We have a central heating system fitted with TSV's (thermostatic valves) on all radiators. It is controlled by a Honeywell ST799 controller, which is attached to a Glow Worm Ultimate 40 FF boiler. The system has no main thermostat. I want to be able to fit Smart thermostatic radiator valves to control the heating in each room. Is the controller/system compatible? And any recommendations if it is.

Last edited:
Well, the st799 is just a basic on/off programmer for the boiler.

I haven’t fitted smart trv’s but can’t see a reason why it wouldn’t work.

The st799 would still control when the whole heating circuit is on. The trv’s smart or not, just allow heat to that particular rad.

What smart trv’s you looking at?

Well, the st799 is just a basic on/off programmer for the boiler.

I haven’t fitted smart trv’s but can’t see a reason why it wouldn’t work.

The st799 would still control when the whole heating circuit is on. The trv’s smart or not, just allow heat to that particular rad.

What smart trv’s you looking at?
i've not really looked as yet, hence why I'm asking for recommendations. One of my friends has got Honeywell ones.

i've not really looked as yet, hence why I'm asking for recommendations. One of my friends has got Honeywell ones.
I personally can’t see the need for smart trv’s. Once you’ve got the manual ones set for a comfortable temperature within the room it’s located (each maybe slightly different to take into account thermal losses), you shouldn’t really need to fiddle with it.

You’re paying extra for a smart trv, which you shouldn’t need to fiddle with and which will break/need replacing (like any trv but at a higher cost) eventually.

If you want slightly more overall control, just get a wireless thermostat to control the whole system.