Search the forum,

Discuss My New Hot Water Pump (Evosta 3) is over pumping in the Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, I'm a DIY plumber and new to the forum, and would appreciate some advice.

I have an oil fired boiler heating a smallish house. I just took out my old (20 years) copper hot water cylinder and replaced it with a new stainless steel Indirect Unvented cylinder.

The old system had a pump on the central heating (still there) but no pump on the hot water circuit, and it flowed pretty well via I assume the principles of hot water rising. It is a very short distance from boiler straight up to the cylinder.

With the new cylinder however it just would not flow, so I had to fit a pump, namely the Evosta 3. I'm sure it is a great pump, but it seems just over the top for the job, to the extent that even on the lowest pump setting it is pushing water into the vent.

Is there a known fix for this, eg do I have to add another pressure tank, or is there another setting on the pump to reduce the head (and hopefully make it quieter). Any ideas welcomed. Many Thanks.

Any pictures of the install ?

Pictures and a diagram of pipework would be useful.
You need to be G3 registered to fit unvented cylinders !
And pumping what is basically a gravity circuit is a big no as well.

Hi, I'm not sure they would help.***.the pump is on the return pipe, 1m above the top of boiler and 1m beneath the bottom of cylinder on the floor above

Can we have some please

Can we have some please
Hi, Pictures attached.

In answer to an earlier well made point, I am guided in all of this by a professional plumber. The current plan is to add an expansion vessel, but I/we would welcome other thoughts, and if anyone knows why a gravity fed system that worked fine for years now won't flow with the new cylinder, that would be interesting too! Cheers.

Attachments

• 27aug2021 007.JPG
    27aug2021 007.JPG
    361.3 KB · Views: 22