Search the forum,

Discuss MCS PV installer wanting to add ST in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

saint

I am an MCS PV installer. I want to be able to offer Solar Thermal to our customers. I can see two ways of doing this.

A. Use a plumber with the all the necessary qualifications.
B. Train up myself.

If i go down the route A i get employment / subcontracting issues. i.e. employment - keeping someone busy enough to justify employment. Sub contract - may not be available when needed.
So i'm thinking of route B. But i'm not sure what's involved. From what i had read there is possibly lots of training . What courses do i need to complete as a minimum? I know a PV installer who only had to join a Part P scheme and complete his 17th edition to become MCS registered with Napit. Is there a fast track for Solar Thermal?

Any advice welcome
Thanks

I Might suggest that if you do it yourself you will only need to do a solar thermal course, to do the solar thermal installation and then use a plumber to do the cylinder changes. I have done this with a company for a number of years and it works well, the reason I suggest this is because invariably when the customer gets you on the job they usually want a few other plumbing jobs doing which might then test your plumbing knowledge.

Thanks, yes i will be using a plumber to work along side me for the experience he would bring.
I can't find a ST course for me that doesn't require NVQ level 2 etc etc.
Any suggestions?

Hi saint

in this case if you only intend to install one manufacturers kit, it may well be worth going on a manufacturers course.

Hi,

Might be better to team up with an independent ST installer that way your businesses should compliment each other, we get a lot of enquiries for PV but because it's a totally different technology we say no to potential business.