Search the forum,

Discuss Mates boiler spilling and British Gas say it's fine in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

craiglancs

Check this out guys. My mate rents a house, he sent me these photos to which I said it needs cutting off and replacing, but British gas have come round and said it's fine....

Attachments

• Screenshot_2016-02-10-21-42-05.jpg
    Screenshot_2016-02-10-21-42-05.jpg
    107.1 KB · Views: 164
  • Screenshot_2016-02-11-16-35-47.jpg
    Screenshot_2016-02-11-16-35-47.jpg
    127.7 KB · Views: 162
well simple way to tell is either tell landlord to get it double checked or for him to get a gas safe eng out to check

but fyi he cant take the cover off unless hes gas safe

I know he can't take the cover of mate but he said it wasn't even screwed on. I'm a gas safe engineer,,,, and looking at his photos I said I'm coming over to cap the boiler, but he's called British gas to look at it who said it's fine. That's massive signs of spillage to me. What's wrong with them? There telling him it's heat staining which it defo isn't in that pattern, and the fact he's swiped his finger through it and it's rubbed off.

Is that an ISAR.
I wonder if the ionisation pins have gone previously. Burner overheats and can cause that. Or of course it could be faulty now as you say.
Need to establish if Its new damage or old damage prior to a repair.

I know he can't take the cover of mate but he said it wasn't even screwed on. I'm a gas safe engineer,,,, and looking at his photos I said I'm coming over to cap the boiler, but he's called British gas to look at it who said it's fine. That's massive signs of spillage to me. What's wrong with them? There telling him it's heat staining which it defo isn't in that pattern, and the fact he's swiped his finger through it and it's rubbed off.

how long have you been a GSR? new to the industry?

b74e73cb6cfff629b5e738eb26d8285d.jpg