Search the forum,

Discuss Low Mains Water Flow Rate 2 Litres A Minute!!! What Boilers/System Can I Fit?? in the Central Heating Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Hello,

This is my first time posting as I'm a new member so apologies in advance if this has been covered before.

I have recently done a landlords gas check at a property with only 1 gas appliance (heat only boiler) and ended up condemning it as it was ID for many reasons. The landlord asked me to quote for a new boiler and I suggested going for a system conversion from the current Y plan to a combi. I went back around to the property armed with my trusty weir cup and and was horrified, yes, horrified at the flow rate coming out of the kitchen tap, which was two litres a minute! At this point a combi is out of the question, so I'm thinking the only option is to install another heat only boiler to the current system. Are there any other options at this point? Surely an unvented is also out of the question as it would require a decent mains flow rate? I am aprehensive about fitting a modern heat only boiler as the current heating controls are at least 25-30 years old and I would imagine it would be hassle trying to configure them to work with the new boiler. My central heating wiring knowledge is limited so any tips there would be very welcome!

One more thing... I've posted a photo of the incoming mains that feed the property. There is a DIY self cutting outside tap installed right after the third (yes, third) stoptap, which I'm thinking could be a contributing factor to the poor flow rate.

A little more background... I have located the boundry stop tap and made sure it is fully open. I have also fully opened all three stop taps downstream of the 25mm black service pipe. The tenant mentioned that the water supplier came out to the property after complaint and said it is most likely the pipework feeding the house that is at fault and would need replacing to rectify.