Search the forum,

Discuss Learning oil. in the Central Heating Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Yo!

I've been a ng and lpg engineer for the past 15 years, mainly worked for companies but went out on my own the beginning of this year and absolutely loving it... I must say.

Recently moved house out to the sticks so I've decided to stick myself of a 5 day oftec training and assessment course.

I've stripped my own (very old trianco tro) boiler down several times just to get a feel for isolation and working on an oil burner. I changed the nozzle and have been going through the books, so I can see that the fire valve shouldn't be in the house (it is) and the stand for the tank is not wide enough... Blah blah blah (let me get to the point)!

How much of a learning curve will it be for a gas engineer with 15 years experience to start working on oil boilers? What new tools will I need (other than pressure pump and a suction thingy) and what's gonna make we scratch my head and ask a customer to go and run a tap while I cry a little?

Not too much of a learning curve to be honest with your gas background.
I was lucky to spend some half days with an experienced engineer doing servicing and breakdowns.
The OFTEC courses will only teach you the rules and regs. Very little hands on fault finding. Might be better with some of the manufacturers courses.
I used to be OFTEC, did 10 years being registered. But they are totally useless.
Servicing and repairs dont need oftec and for installs I just go through building control now and add the cost to the job.
And you can always find help on here👍