Search the forum,

Discuss Learning from scratch. What's the best way? in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi All,

So I live with my family and am to buy my own house soon probably in the next few months. For the past 6 months or so I have been heavily interested in home renovation and DIY type work in preparation for my new house.

The problem is that I have zero experience. When I mean zero, i mean zero lol. I want to start practicing and learning in the best way possible fitting to my lifestyle. I should also mention that I am an accountant, so just looking to this as a hobby.

I work Monday to Friday and so weekdays are not the best for me.

Ideally, I would love to take part in some weekend workshops for absolute beginners, or even shadow and help out on work projects (possibly charity ones, as I can imaging I won't be allowed on site in a professional setting?) as I believe learning on the job is the quickest way to learn. However, I cannot find anything of the sort on google. DO you think if I call up a plumbing agency and volunteer I could get some work out of it that way? For those in the profession do you accept volunteers on site?

The other route I was thinking of is evening/weekend beginner courses, where I learn the theory. How useful do you think these are? Is it worth the money?

Also I know this is a plumbing site, but if there are volunteering opportunities which gives an all rounder, including for example electrical works and tiling and gutting and rebuilding, painting etc would be amazing. I'm probably dreaming a bit there haha.

Thanks,

The problem is that I have zero experience. When I mean zero, i mean zero lol. I want to start practicing and learning in the best way possible fitting to my lifestyle. I should also mention that I am an accountant, so just looking to this as a hobby.