Search the forum,

Discuss Leaking waste pipes under kitchen sink in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi - Novice here. Under our kitchen sink, the waste pipes are grey, with a green moving 'lip' and then a cover peice that in theory tightens over the connection. The two downward pipes from the sinks go into a cross pipe (along with the washing machine outflow) which then leads outside. However, if any volume of water goes down from the sink, it backs up to the joins and leaks out. I just can't get the downward pipes to commect into the corss pipe tight enough. How are these stupid pipes meant to work? Where can I get replacement pipes that slot together easily (without welding) - I've looked at Screwfix etc but they don't see to have many variations of pipe. Thanks for any advice.

Has this always happened?? Try cleaning the pipes ( use vinegar & bicarbonate soda ) or buy drain cleaner your choice . I believe vinegar & bi carb is same thing at fraction of cost though

Swap em out for one of these kits you may need other fittings but in most cases it will work out . Kop

Attachments

• Screenshot_20210908-184725.png
    Screenshot_20210908-184725.png
    473.8 KB · Views: 7
OP is from Kent.

Probably the green moving lip hasn't gone into the internal cone of the fitting properly. It might be possible to clean it up, refit it correctly and it'll work, or it may be damaged and won't seal now. Should be airtight so shouldn't leak even if the water backs up.

From the description it sounds like a sink waste trap assembly that you might have to buy as a unit even though there are several separate parts involved. Which may be why you can't find what you need from Screwfix.