Search the forum,

Discuss Leaking radiator in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

I have a leaking radiator which in the last week has filled up half a saucepan of water. It’s the valve that is leaking at the bottom however I do not know what the name for this type of valve is called so any help would be appreciated. I am pretty good at general D.I.Y. But have little experience in plumbing and I was just wondering if this type of thing can be easily repaired/replaced by a complete novice such as myself. Is it as simple as tightening the valve if so what is the best method? I’ve circled the section that is leaking. Many thanks, Ste.

Attachments

• 28B4DB5A-8ED1-4571-BDA1-A747B3A9CE4D.jpeg
    28B4DB5A-8ED1-4571-BDA1-A747B3A9CE4D.jpeg
    481.2 KB · Views: 32
  • 8A3BC5A8-5438-452B-B21C-A0AEB5BDCED3.jpeg
    8A3BC5A8-5438-452B-B21C-A0AEB5BDCED3.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 32
  • 4F453D2A-4742-4614-9F45-ABEEE2AFD8CA.jpeg
    4F453D2A-4742-4614-9F45-ABEEE2AFD8CA.jpeg
    1 MB · Views: 33
When you tighten up the leaky union make sure you use some grips to hold the valve in place otherwise if it comes off you will be in trouble as all the central heating water is behind it. Another way if you have to undo it to clean up the naughty joint is to close both rad valves and then use a washing up bowl to collect the water left in the radiator and your mrs best towels to soak any spillage. When drained undo car3fully as above.
good luck. centralheatking

If you are keen on DIY, patient and willing to learn why not start a program of replacing all your radiator valves for thermostatic ones.

You may be lucky and able to tighten up this leaking old valve joint in situ without draining - but it is very easy to unwittingly damage / crack the valve / pipe joint if you apply unrestrained force on the valve / radiator union joint. CHKING has alluded to that.