Search the forum,

Discuss Leaking flexi pipe when attached to stop pipe piece. in the Bathrooms, Showers and Wetrooms area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi, I am by no means a plumber, however I am trying to fit a new Bathroom sink. As I don't know the correct terminology I have attached a couple of pictures to try and help explain it. I have attached an elbow stop pipe piece to a copper pipe and have no problems with this. However I have attached a flexi pipe onto this and then another flexi pipe onto this one which is attached to the tap. However the flexi pipe attached to the elbow stop connector starts leaking very badly when I open the stop pipe. However does not appear to leak when it's not attached to the other flexi pipe. As I have no real knowledge of this I realise I am missing something, or got the wrong flexi pipe, can someone advise me please on what I need to do? Many thanks wrong flexi pipe, can someone advise me please on what I need to do? Many thanks. 20210620_230040.jpg 20210620_230238.jpg

The flexi hose/pipe is designed to work with a nut and olive, so it could just be the thread being a bit sharp for the washer in the service elbow (appears to be nylon). The service elbow is designed to be connected to taps, fill valves et al.

Those angled service valves are gash. I wouldn't be joining 2 flexis together.
As Aquarius said above the flexi is not designed to be attached like that.
Also keep ptfe away from compression fittings unless it's a male iron fitting. It does nothing on the threads of a standard compression fitting.

Reply to Leaking flexi pipe when attached to stop pipe piece. in the Bathrooms, Showers and Wetrooms area at PlumbersForums.net

Similar plumbing topics