Search the forum,

Discuss Just while its on my mind in the Central Heating Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

townfanjon

Esteemed
Plumber
Gas Engineer
Subscribed
Guys , when this chinese virus has finally “ done one “ and hopefully we have all come out the end of it fit and well I have two dirtyish open vented heating system boilers to change , both houses are full of laminate floors , solid timber floors , tiled etc etc , both customers and myself do not fancy sealing the systems so I think it maybe time to heat through a plate or LLH I have never done it before , have no idea on sizes , pumps etc etc , has anybody any info , books , websites etc etc that would be helpful. Cheers in advance #staysafegys .

Honestly i'd just seal it. If it's leaking now it'll cause more damage to the system leaving it OV. If it starts leaking when you've sealed it then more than likely it'd of started leaking in the near future.

We had a very problematic system that was dirty and had circulation issues - personally I'd of sealed it from day one however a decision was made to leave it OV. Unknown to us was a old gravity check valve under the living room floor where the back boiler used to be (Under laminate) was leaking introducing fresh water all the time and destroying the system - if we'd of sealed it from the start we'd of known there was a leak!

Plate it leave the old side open and install the new sealed as for plate 3x the heat load so if it’s 10kw 30kw plate etc

how bigs the system as for pump ?

A LLH will not separate the system from the boiler to allow pressurised and OV
Yep cheers , I realised after I had typed it lol ,
[automerge]1587022361[/automerge]
Plate it leave the old side open and install the new sealed as for plate 3x the heat load so if it’s 10kw 30kw plate etc

how bigs the system as for pump ?
Dont know exactly pal , will get back to you when things go back to normal, hopefully !!
[automerge]1587022622[/automerge]