Search the forum,

Discuss Isolating water in a hotel in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

mrlennie

Hi all I'm a domestic plumber this is my first year of working for myself.

I completed my city and guilds course and went out to start plumbing work. So far it has been great learning as I go along but sometimes I hit a snag and this is were I need help.

I need to isolate water to a mixer shower (one of 50) in a hotel and I'm hoping there are gate valves somewhere. What could I expect? Will there be a cupboard somewhere? Surely turning off the whole buildings supply of water is out of the question so where do I go from here?

Thanks in advance.

if its an old building it might be a case of having to isolate at the tanks,but u could be hunting for days trying to find them if they exist.
May be worth considering freezing if u cant locate quickly!
Good hunting.
Probably good size tanks could be speedo time with an appropriate bung between the teeth!

Try and find some one thats been there years for the heads up!

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks for the response haha speedo time serious?

the building is 1970s rough guess. Wouldn't like to freeze a hot water pipe...

That would be a cold hot water pipe otherwise it wont freeze!

Aye thinking about it your right the pipe is cold as long as the water is not running. So if I can't find any gate valves pipe freezing seems the way ta go?

firstly make sure your insurance is adequate!.

are you a domestic plumber or commercial?.

we used to get reception to call all rooms and tell them the water is going off. dont do it when the kitchen staff are working, and at the queitest time of day, usually around 3p.m.

the cwst in the hotel i used to work was 1,000 gallons on the roof 4 floors up, hence insurance.

Hello luv, Ive come to change the shower in room 23, do you know where the stop valves are? lennie henry.jpg

"Mr Lennie".

Lol I like your pictures.