Search the forum,

Discuss Immersion Heater Thermostat Problem in the The Welcome Wagon :) area at PlumbersForums.net

Afternoon Ladies & Gents, I am having a repeat problem with my Grandma's Immersion Heater Thermostat. The thermostat is a 18" Tesla Dual safety variety from Screwfix. Grandma had a new cylinder and header tank fitted with immersion heater, no other source of hot water. I have replaced the thermostat on 4 occasions in as many months. I did notice that the thermostat terminal port had brown discolouration so checked for loose connections, one wire was loose so put it down to that. Since then it has stopped failed again. Can anyone suggest why this keeps occurring?

I'm not a certified electrician but loose connections can cause arking which can cause a larger amount of current to be pulled generating excess heat. Its most likely the cause and could of been far worse.

Afternoon Ladies & Gents, I am having a repeat problem with my Grandma's Immersion Heater Thermostat. The thermostat is a 18" Tesla Dual safety variety from Screwfix. Grandma had a new cylinder and header tank fitted with immersion heater, no other source of hot water. I have replaced the thermostat on 4 occasions in as many months. I did notice that the thermostat terminal port had brown discolouration so checked for loose connections, one wire was loose so put it down to that. Since then it has stopped failed again. Can anyone suggest why this keeps occurring?
If its a top mounted dual immersion (sink/bath) then the thermostat should only be ~ 11 ins long, also if a dual immersion someone might (although difficult) managed to wire the two elements in parallel which will very quickly burn out the stat, these should last for years even with fairly heavy use.
If it is a dual immersion ( or even if not) a photo of the immersion top might reveal something.

My recommendation would NOT to buy another Screwfix unit. 4 failures in 4 months isn’t good. Did Screwfix replace any of them FOC?