Search the forum,

Discuss I'm a technical engineer for a prestigious company. It begins with b! in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

bigjack

WOW. Never thought I'd write on a forum about work! Its more of a rant actually!

(This is for ppl hoping to get into the industry and for ppl in the industry.)

Does anyone else think that us guys are massively under payed over worked and generally treated like rubbish. (Tracked,anti social hours, forced to sell.- Can't even go for a pee without being questioned! Then your being monitored on the amount of work you do, a double A4 page every month on your performance. If figures aren't reached managers deal with you. We have to deal with irate customers expecting everything done 20minutes ago and god help you if the parts not on the van
and you can't do the job there and then, even if its 7 oclock on a Sunday!

(I am speaking generally, not just the company I work for.)

Its a shame because if the job market hadn't got so saturated, we would probably be on the money we deserve now. (I know I sound bitter and hard done by! I am glad to have a job. I know, I know!).

One of the reasons I'm writing this post is that I just had lots of work done on my house. Lots of tradesman in, got lots of quotes recommendations etc. Nearly every one of these guys was earning more than me! Even the SKY man! They're jobs were no comparison for what we have to know,do and put up with!

I've been doing the job for 13 years. I am competent as many others in ELECTRICS/WIRING FAULT FINDING/WIRING/PIPEWORK/SYSTEM DESIGN/ELECTRONIC COMPONENT,HYDRAULIC COMPONENT UNDERSTANDING AND TESTING/COMBUSTION TESTING AND KNOWLEDGE OF COMBUSTION/PLUMBING SYSTEMS KNOWLEDGE/COUNTLESS SAFETY REGS. AND OF COURSE KNOWLEDGE ON ALL DOMESTIC GAS APPLIANCES, REPAIR INSTALLATION AND MAINTENANCE.