Search the forum,

Discuss I am starting out and getting my Gas Safe tickets - cost of tools/equipment?? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

clarky_two

Hello,

this is my first post in this forum so please bear with me as I am new to the industry.

I am looking to get Gas Safe qualified starting in March 2015. I have a course lined up and also a Gas Safe engineer who is happy for me to proceed with my portfolio. He has also kindly offered to give me work as he has lots on and always has done. I also have a friend who runs his own building company who has said once I get the ticket he will be able to give me plenty of work.

I am just wondering what do people think about the initial outlay of tools and equipment and the costs of these items.

I know that once I start my course and portfolio I will have a greater understanding of whats needed, but I am trying to put together a bit of a business plan and costings together, so I have the heads up on financial requirements.

Any sound advice appreciated.

Cheers

Clarky

Hi, welcome along.
what do you have already??
will you buy cheap or quality??
so many variables and there will always be another tool that you still want.
start collecting now.

I am starting with almost nothing really, apart from the usual stuff you will find in a tool box for motorcycles. so a few spanners, pliers and screw drivers etc. I think medium build leaning more towards quality rather than cheap stuff.

What kind of speciality tools for the job? MUST HAVE tools?

Thanks

Ask advice from the gas safe chap helping with your portfolio. Too many variants depending on where exactly you intend to concentrate your work

Yep, what you going to do?

Servicing?

Installs?

Repairs?

What tools you already got?

Builder will get u plenty of work. It may feel like your re doing same job six times for same price.... Then turns out you did it for free. Builders = nonce [emoji12]

Status