Search the forum,

Discuss how much would I expect to pay for boiler replacement? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
hi all,

i'm new here and am posting as I'm in need of a replacement boiler and find the world of plumbing daunting as I have no knowledge of it whatsoever.

I have a small 2 bedroom semi with 6 rads, bath, electric shower and a bosted clog Ravenheat Combi boiler under my stairs, I believe a straight swap to be possible on the wall for a new condensing boiler.

I have heard a variety of prices, but am converging on about £300 labour for 2 days work to replace my boiler with all the rigmarole that goes with it, plus the cost of the boiler itsself.

I'm not after the mutt's nutts in boilers as i'm planning to move in the next 12 months, but am simply too cold at present and wasting too much on my monthly gas bill. ( I can't even set it to come on and turn off at certain times! )

I must add that at present 2 of my rads have stopped working, I believe this to be either 1) sludge or 2) stuck thermostatic radiator valves.

What would you see as reasonable price for this operation please?

Last edited:
If your present boiler is working, then don't book in a replacment right now, as you'll pay through the nose. I now have 3 boiler changes booked up. The person who is paying the least is the lady who can wait as her boiler is still chugging along.

As for labour, I don't work for £150 a day so that's your theory out the window there. However if you want it done properly, the system will need to be flushed, if your system is badly sludged as you suggest then it will need a power flush. Then possibly some rads will require thermostatic valves fitted. Then the new boiler will be condensing and will need a condensate run. Finally your new boiler may need a larger gas supply. Which means uprating the pipework supply from the meter.