Search the forum,

Discuss How bad/urgent is this? in the Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

Hello,

Newbie here, have just bought a house and lifted some floor boards and found this (see photo).

Not totally sure what the pipes are for but think they're all central heating.

Not sure if it's a coincidence but there's a radiator just near this section of pipes that doesn't heat up. (I've bled all the radiators)

Main question - is this an 'emergency' to get fixed or something quite common?

Thanks
James

Attachments

• 20200321_102859.jpg
    20200321_102859.jpg
    152.1 KB · Views: 38
Somebody didn't clean the residual flux off after sweating the joints. Could cause copper to leak if left, although disturbing it could also do the same. If its not leaking at the moment then its not classified as essential.
One radiator not getting hot is not likely to be caused by this, much more likely a balancing issue or similar.

Looks a bit like friction as well. May have rubbed through copper.

Stick a bowl underneath see if you catch anything.

I would have said wrap some tissue round it, but wouldn't been keen on moving it to be honest.

There are two pipes that have white stuff on them i would say they have pin holed and leaking which has caused the copper to go green, Urgent its a case of when. Have had a few houses where the pipework all over the house was like this.

Hello,

Newbie here, have just bought a house and lifted some floor boards and found this (see photo).

Not totally sure what the pipes are for but think they're all central heating.

Not sure if it's a coincidence but there's a radiator just near this section of pipes that doesn't heat up. (I've bled all the radiators)

Main question - is this an 'emergency' to get fixed or something quite common?

Thanks
James
No it’s not an emergency, live with the rad that is naughty and then wait till things get back to normal, decent engineers are at a premium Centralheatking